The Doctoral School

The Doctoral School is an academic community home to more than 50 permanent faculty members and over 100 doctoral students.

The Doctoral Program in Political Science was established by the Departments of Political Science, International Relations and Public Policy with the aim of contributing to a spirit of cooperation between faculty and students and foster the consolidation of a common academic community across the three departments. The constituting units of the Doctoral School are the departments of Political Science, International Relations, and Public Policy.

The Doctoral School offers and administers the Doctoral (PhD) Program in Political Science. The PhD program aims to provide the theoretical and methodological skills necessary to facilitate a broader comparative perspective which will mediate and engage scholarship and practices from both European and non-European contexts. We expect applicants who are ready to meet the challenges of critical thinking, academic excellence, social responsibility and inter-contextual perspective.

You can browse the personal profiles of the faculty members affiliated with the School by using the left hand menu.In the same menu you can find more information about the School's staff members and PhD students as well.


The Doctoral School is governed by the Doctoral Committee (DC), which comprises the School Director, the five track representatives and a student representative. The School Director is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the program, both academic and administrative. The track representatives are responsible for the coherence of each track within the School.

In the 2021-2022 Academic Year the Doctoral Committee comprises the following members:

School Director: Michael Merlingen (IR) 

Comparative Politics track representative: Gabor Simonovits (POLS)
Political Economy track representative: Inna Melnykovska (POLS)
Political Theory track representative: Zoltan Miklosi (POLS)
International Relations track representative: Erzsebet Strausz (IR)
Public Policy track representative: Daniel Large (DPP)
Student representative: Freya Cumberlidge

To learn more about the PhD program offered by the Doctoral School, please click on the "Program" menu item in the top horizontal menu, or follow this link.