Academic Calendar

On this page you can find the list of important events and deadlines for the Doctoral School of Political Science, Public Policy and International Relations in the Academic Year 2021-22. You can also download the calendar in pdf at the bottom of the page. For the full Academic Calendar of Central European University click here.

Important dates in AY 2021/2022

2021

September 4-5, Sat-Sun
Doctoral students arrive in Vienna

September 6-10
Orientation week

September 7, 10:00 AM CET
DSPS welcome orientation

September 13-17
Zero Week
Registration for Fall Term begins (until September 27, Monday)

September 16, Thursday
15:00 Opening ceremony in Vienna

September 20, Monday
Fall Term begins (until December 10, Friday)

September 20-28
Student Union elections in departments and schools

September 27
Registration for Fall Term ends

October 7, Thursday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline

October 8, Friday
14:00 Deadline for submitting study plans

October 13, Wednesday
First Student Union Assembly meeting

October 23, Saturday
Hungarian National Holiday, CEU Budapest is officially closed

October 26, Tuesday
Austrian National Holiday, CEU Vienna is officially closed

November 1, Monday
All Saints’ Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

December 8, Wednesday
Immaculate Conception Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

December 10, Friday
Fall Term ends

December 13, Monday
Registration for Winter Term begins (until January 17, Monday)

December 24, Friday
Christmas Eve, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

December 25-26, Sat-Sun
Christmas Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

December 31, Friday
New Year’s Eve, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

2022

January 1, Saturday
New Year’s Day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

January 5, Wednesday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline

January 6, Thursday
Epiphany Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

January 10, Monday
Winter Term begins (until April 1, Friday)

January 17, Monday
Registration for Winter Term ends

February 14, Monday
Deadline for choosing a permanent supervisor and submitting the title/topic of the prospectus to the DS

March 3, Thursday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline

March 15, Tuesday
Hungarian National Holiday, CEU Budapest is officially closed

March 22, Monday
Registration for Spring Term begins (until April 11, Monday)

April 1, Friday
Winter Term ends

April 4, Monday
Spring Term begins (until June 17, Friday)

April 6-8, Wed-Fri 
Annual Doctoral Conference

April 11, Monday
Registration for Spring Term ends

April 15, Friday
Good Friday, CEU Budapest is officially closed

April 17, Sunday
Easter Sunday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

April 18, Monday
Easter Monday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

May 1, Sunday
Labor day, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

May 2, Monday
Submission of 1st draft of Annotated Bibliography

May 23, Monday
Prospectus submission

May 26, Thursday
Ascension Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

May 27, Friday
Submission of final Annotated Bibliography for the Comprehensive Exam

June 3, Friday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline

June 5, Sunday
Pentecost Sunday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

June 6, Monday
Pentecost Monday, CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed

June 13-15, Mon-Wed
Comprehensive Exams

June 16, Thursday
Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

June 17, Friday
Spring Term ends

June 24, Friday
Commencement

July 31, Saturday
Academic Year ends