Structure of the Program

One program, five tracks

The Doctoral School of Political Science, Public Policy and International Relations covers several academic sub-fields, but runs one single PhD program located in Vienna: the Doctoral Program in Political Science. The structure of the Doctoral Program in Political Science is based on a system of ‘tracks’ (areas of specialization, or ‘majors’). The tracks represent academic fields / sub-fields or research areas that reflect the major strengths and interests of our faculty.

The five tracks are:

After being admitted to the Doctoral Program, every student becomes the member of the track of their choice. Each track has its specific course requirements and research topics that distinguishes it from the others.

PhD candidates can obtain a 'minor' in addition to their doctoral degree in Political Science, by completing additional coursework in a subfield other than their main track.

To learn more about the Doctoral Program's requirements, the stages of doctoral candidacy and the means of researach supervision, please click on the menu on the left side of the page.

Get in touch to receive recruitment information.